On Now
Coming Up
  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM CDT Player Signing at XFINITY

    Meet Texans tight end Ryan Griffin for autographs (3-4 PM) at XFINITY located at 517 S. Mason Road, Katy TX 77450.

    Celebrity subject to change.

  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM CDT Conn's Trick or Texans

    Meet Texans punter Shane Lechler at Conn's Trick or Texans event, where autographs will be available 5-6 PM. Located at Conn's at 12730 Fountain Lake Circle, Stafford TX 77477.

    Celebrities subject to change.

  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CDT Player Signing at FCCU

    Meet Texans cornerback Kareen Jackson (6-7 PM) at the FCCU located at 9100 Westview, Houston TX 77055.

    Celebrity subject to change.

  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CDT Players Show Live from Fuddruckers

    Join Texans DE Christian Covington from 6-7 PM at Fuddruckers (3929 Southwest Fwy, 77027) for a live Texans Radio on SportsRadio 610 broadcast with Voice of the Texans, Marc Vandermeer, and special guests!

    Plaus, all Houston area Fuddruckers will feature a Buy One Texans Burger Combo, Get One Free Texans Burger and $15 beer buckets every Tuesday during the season for fans showing up in the Texans gear, whether the Texans win or lose their previous game, so don't miss out!

    Then stay for Texans All Access 7-8 PM. Lots of Texans prizes & giveaways!

    Celebrity subject to change.

  • Mon., Oct. 30, 2017 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM CDT TORO's Kids Club Halloween Party

    Join TORO, Texans players, Cheerleaders, and TORO's Kids Club members for this year's superhero-themed Halloween Party!

    This event is for TORO's Kids Club members and their parents, but you can join TORO's Kids Club for free!

    RSVP: http://www.houstontexans.com/kids/kidsclub/cookiesandrookies.html



J.J. Watt named NFL 101 AFC Defensive Player of Year

Posted Jan 15, 2013

DE J.J. Watt racked up more honors for the 2012 season, earning the NFL 101 AFC Defensive Player of Year award.

J.J. Watt named NFL 101 AFC Defensive Player of Year

Texans defensive end J.J. Watt has been named the NFL 101 AFC Defensive Player of the Year.

The NFL 101 Awards are voted on at the end of the regular season by a national media committee of 101 sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL. Watt will receive his award at the 43rd Annual NFL 101 Awards gala in Kansas City, Mo., on Saturday, March 2.

Watt had an NFL-best 20.5 sacks for 139 yards lost in 2012. He also broke up 16 passes, five of which ended up being intercepted, and forced four fumbles. The Texans finished the year 12-4 and won the AFC South. Watt was selected to the Pro Bowl as a starter for the AFC and was a unanimous first-team All-Pro selection by the Associated Press.

Other NFL 101 Award winners were Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning (AFC Offensive Player of the Year), Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson (NFC Offensive Player of the Year), San Francisco 49ers outside linebacker Aldon Smith (NFC Defensive Player of the Year), Indianapolis Colts head coach Chuck Pagano and offensive coordinator Bruce Arians (co-winners of AFC Coach of the Year) and Seattle Seahawks head coach Pete Carroll (NFC Coach of the Year).

Texans head coach Gary Kubiak was named the NFL 101 AFC Coach of the Year last season after leading the Texans to a 10-6 record and their first-ever AFC South title.


Content on HoustonTexans.com does not necessarily represent the views of the Houston Texans front office staff, coaches or executives.

Trending Now

Recent News