On Now
Coming Up
  • Sat., Apr. 28, 2018 8:00 AM - 11:00 AM CDT Texans Care Volunteer Day Texans Care Volunteer Day presented by Reliant is a city-wide volunteer day where Texans players, Cheerleaders, Ambassadors, TORO and staff volunteer alongside Texans fans. Check out the many organizations with whom you can volunteer!
  • Sat., May. 26, 2018 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM CDT FUNomenal Family Festival at Discovery Green Come play games or win prizes for signing up for any of our fan clubs!



Schaub earns AFC Offensive Player of the Week

Posted Nov 21, 2012

Texans quarterback Matt Schaub was named AFC Offensive Player of the Week today following his performance Week 11 against Jacksonville on Nov. 18.

Texans quarterback Matt Schaub has been named AFC Offensive Player of the Week.

Schaub also is nominated for FedEx Air NFL Player of the Week honors. Vote for him HERE.

Schaub threw for 527 yards and five touchdowns on Sunday against the Jacksonville Jaguars, leading the Texans back from a 14-point fourth-quarter deficit for a 43-37 victory in overtime. He completed 43-of-55 passes (78.2 perecent), including the game-winning 48-yard touchdown to wide receiver Andre Johnson. Schaub tied Houston Oilers Hall of Fame quarterback Warren Moon for the second-most passing yards in a game in NFL history.

"It’s fun to go out every now and then to throw it around as a quarterback and spread guys and use all the weapons at your disposal," Schaub said on Tuesday. "Our team is built a certain way and we don’t want to get to that if we don’t have to. It just shows that we can do it and that we can win in many different ways.”

This is the fourth time Schaub has been named AFC Offensive Player of the Week. He previously won it in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Schaub has completed 65.5 percent of his passes this season for 2,540 yards, 18 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He ranks eighth in the NFL and fourth in the AFC with a 96.8 passer rating. He has won 13 of his last 14 starts dating back to last season.

List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:

Player (Award), Week, Year

Matt Schaub (Offensive), Week 11 2012
J.J. Watt (Defensive), Week 2 2012
Arian Foster (Offensive), Week 7 2011
Arian Foster (Offensive), Week 4 2011
Glover Quin (Defensive), Week 12 2010
Matt Schaub (Offensive), Week 6 2010
Andre Johnson (Offensive), Week 2 2010
Arian Foster (Offensive), Week 1 2010
Brian Cushing (Defensive), Week 8 2009
Brian Cushing (Defensive), Week 6 2009
Jacoby Jones (Special Teams), Week 4 2009
Matt Schaub (Offensive), Week 2 2009
Matt Schaub (Offensive), Week 14 2008
Steve Slaton (Offensive), Week 13 2008
Jacoby Jones (Special Teams), Week 8 2008
Jacoby Jones (Special Teams), Week 6 2008
André Davis (Special Teams), Week 14 2007
Kris Brown (Special Teams), Week 5 2007
Mario Williams (Defensive), Week 1 2007
Kris Brown (Special Teams), Week 16 2006
DeMeco Ryans (Defensive), Week 13 2006
Andre Johnson (Offensive), Week 4 2006
Jerome Mathis (Special Teams), Week 8 2005
Kris Brown (Special Teams), Week 3 2004
Chad Stanley (Special Teams), Week 9 2003
Avion Black (Special Teams), Week 15 2002
Aaron Glenn (Defensive), Week 14 2002


Content on HoustonTexans.com does not necessarily represent the views of the Houston Texans front office staff, coaches or executives.

Trending Now

Recent News