Daily Brew: Watson nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship award

Deshaun Watson is one of 32 players nominated for the 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes outstanding sportsmanship on the field, the NFL announced Thursday.

Watson, the Houston Texans nominee for the award, has already shattered numerous records, becoming the first player in NFL history to record over 17 passing touchdowns (18) and five rushing touchdowns (five) through the first nine games of a season. In October, Watson was named AFC Player of the Month after leading the Texans to an NFL-high 134 points scored in the month. The third-year signal caller, also led the AFC with 10 passing touchdowns, four more than the next AFC quarterback.

Watson also threw this game-winning touchdown pass to tight end Darren Fells, while simultaneously taking a cleat to the eye in Week 8 against Oakland.

The award was created in 2016 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr. Players from around the league will vote on this year's winner from eight finalists (four AFC, four NFC), selected from the 32 nominees by panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community.

The winner, who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition, will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 1 on FOX-26. He will also receive a trophy and a $25,000 donation form the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. Previous recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award include: Drew Brees (2018), Luke Kuechly (2017), Frank Gore (2016), Charles Woodson (2015), and Larry Fitzgerald (2014).

Related Content