Deshaun Watson Named AFC Offensive Player of the Week

The NFL has named Houston Texans QB Deshaun Watson the AFC Offensive Player of the Week following his performance in the team's 27-20 victory over the New England Patriots in Week 11. This marks the fifth Player of the Week award of his NFL career (Week 4 of 2017, Week 3 of 2019, Week 5 of 2019 and Week 13 of 2019), which is the second-most in franchise history behind only J.J. Watt (seven). Watson joins Lamar Jackson, Russell Wilson and Patrick Mahomes as the only quarterbacks with at least five Player of the Week awards since 2017.

In Week 13, Watson completed 28-of-37 passes (75.7 percent) for 344 yards, two touchdowns, zero interceptions and a 121.9 rating. He also ran for 36 yards and one touchdown on six carries (6.0 avg.). Watson led the conference in passer rating (121.9), completion percentage (75.7) and yards per attempt (9.3), while ranking second in rushing yards among AFC quarterbacks. He led the Texans to consecutive wins against the Patriots for the first time in franchise history and helped Houston become only the second team in the NFL to win consecutive games against the Patriots since 2017 (Kansas City).

Watson is the fifth quarterback to record three games with at least 300 passing yards, two touchdown passes and a rushing touchdown in his first four seasons in NFL history. He also became first player in team history and second player in the NFL this season with at least 225 passing yards, two passing touchdowns and one rushing touchdown in the first half of a game. It marked his seventh game with multiple touchdown passes and fifth game with at least 300 passing yards this season. He now owns the most touchdown passes and second-most passing yards by a Texans player through the first 10 games of a season.

This marks the 49th time a Texan has been named Player of the Week in franchise history and the fourth time this season. It is also the 17th time Houston has won the AFC Offensive Player of the Week award in team history. Watson also took home the AFC Offensive Player of the Week award following last season's matchup with New England in Week 13.

Houston Texans All-Time Player of the Week Award Winners

Table inside Article
PLAYER Award Week Season
Deshaun Waston Offensive 11 2020
Angelo Blackson Special Teams 15 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 13 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 5 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 3 2019
Whitney Mercilus Defensive 2 2019
Ka'imi Fairbairn Special Teams 15 2018
J.J. Watt Defensive 12 2018
Jadeveon Clowney Defensive 4 2018
Johnathan Joseph Defensive 6 2017
Deshaun Watson Offensive 4 2017
Shane Lechler Special Teams 8 2016
Will Fuller V Special Teams 4 2016
Whitney Mercilus Defensive 1 2016
J.J. Watt Defensive 17 2015
J.J. Watt Defensive 11 2015
DeAndre Hopkins Offensive 6 2015
Randy Bullock Special Teams 16 2014
Ryan Fitzpatrick Offensive 13 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 11 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 4 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 15 2012
Matt Schaub Offensive 11 2012
J.J. Watt Defensive 3 2012
Arian Foster Offensive 7 2011
Arian Foster Offensive 4 2011
Glover Quin Defensive 12 2010
Matt Schaub Offensive 6 2010
Andre Johnson Offensive 2 2010
Arian Foster Offensive 1 2010
Brian Cushing Defensive 8 2009
Brian Cushing Defensive 6 2009
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 4 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 2 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 14 2008
Steve Slaton Offensive 13 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 8 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 6 2008
André Davis Special Teams 14 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 5 2007
Mario Williams Defensive 1 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 16 2006
Demeco RyansBrown Defensive 13 2006
Andre Johnson Offensive 4 2006
Jerome Mathis Special Teams 8 2005
Kris Brown Special Teams 3 2004
Chad Stanley Special Teams 9 2003
Avion Black Special Teams 15 2002
Aaron Glenn Defensive 14 2002

Check out the best photos from the Houston Texans victory over the New England Patriots in Week 11 of the 2020 Season in the Bull's Eye photo gallery presented by Whataburger.

Related Content