Houston Football Dinner

The Houston Texans will present their annual player awards at the Houston Football Dinner at 7 p.m., Wednesday, May 3, at the JW Marriott, 5150 Westheimer, sponsored by the Touchdown Club of Houston.

Texans Head Coach Gary Kubiak will present the team's 2005 Most Valuable Player Award to Domanick Davis, and General Manager Charley Casserly will honor Jerome Mathis as Rookie of the Year. Other awards will go to Mark Bruener for the Spirit of the Bull sportsmanship award and Dunta Robinson for most-media friendly. Keenan McCardell was named the top player in the NFL who grew up in Greater Houston but is not a Texan, as voted on by the Houston Pro Football Writers Association. Houston Chronicle sportswriter John McClain will present the award to McCardell.

Others to be honored at the event include the top scholar-athletes from Texas Southern University, Prairie View A&M University, the University of Houston, Rice University, Texas A&M University and the University of Texas.

The Texans also will recognize area high schoolers for athletics and sportsmanship, and give awards to the top high school coaches -- Gary Joseph of Katy for Class 5A and Lydell Wilson of Lamar Consolidated in Class 4A.

Tickets are $40 each, and can be purchased through the Touchdown Club of Houston. Proceeds will benefit the Houston Texans Foundation and the Houston Touchdown Club. Tickets may be ordered via e-mail at houtdclub@houston.rr.com, or by calling Neal Farmer at 713-899-0783.

Tables also are available. Tables are $400 for a regular table, $500 for a bronze sponsorship table, $1,000 for a silver sponsorship table and $1,500 for a gold sponsorship table. All tables are 10 seats each.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content