Owners vote to change postseason OT format

By a 28-4 count, NFL owners have voted to modify sudden-death overtime rules for playoff games. Beginning in the 2010 postseason, both teams will be guaranteed a chance to have at least one possession in overtime unless the team that receives the opening kickoff scores a touchdown.

Texans owner Bob McNair was among those who voted for the rule change to pass today at the NFL Annual Meetings in Orlando, Fla. Multiple reports indicate that the Buffalo Bills, Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals and Minnesota Vikings were the teams to vote against it.

ESPN's John Clayton and Chris Mortensen are reporting that the owners also decided that, when they reconvene in Dallas in May, they will discuss the idea of applying the overtime rules change to regular-season games.

The eight-man NFL Competition Committee, which includes Texans GM Rick Smith, recommended the rule change to owners by a 6-2 vote. Commissioner Roger Goodell also voiced his support for the plan this week in Orlando.

Click either of the links above to find a thorough explanation of the new overtime rules.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.