Report: AP to re-vote for DROY, All-Pro teams

In response to Texans linebacker Brian Cushing's **four-game suspension** for the start of the 2010 season, the *Associated Press *reportedly has **called for a re-vote** on the 2009 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year award, and the outside linebacker position on its All-Pro team.

Cushing won top defensive rookie honors by a landslide margin, receiving 39 votes from a 50-member AP panel. Buffalo Bills safety Jairus Byrd was second with six votes, followed by Green Bay Packers linebacker Clay Matthews (3) and Washington Redskins linebacker Brian Orakpo (2). Cushing also was named second-team All-Pro, finishing third among NFL outside linebackers with five votes.

"This is the first time we've encountered an issue like this," AP's managing editor for sports and entertainment Lou Ferrara said, according to an AP story in the USA Today. "Because these awards are based on on-field performance, we consider it necessary to review the matter and allow for a re-vote, especially after concerns were raised by many of our voters."

Cushing is still a candidate for both honors.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.