Skip to main content

David Quessenberry voted Ed Block Courage winner


HOUSTON -** The Houston Texans have selected G David Quessenberry as the 2014 Ed Block Courage Award winner. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field and their ability to overcome great adversity.

Quessenberry was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin Lymphoma on June 10, 2014 and is currently undergoing treatments. Quessenberry is commonly seen around the Texans facilities attending meetings and continuing to learn the playbook, and has been an inspiration for his teammates.

"I know it's a tremendous award and a tremendous honor to be able to get, and I'm sure obviously DQ would be the first one to tell you that he's super appreciative of it," Myers said. "It was obviously a no-brainer for the whole team to just go ahead and give David that. For what he's going through right now, it's something that's beyond what any of us could imagine right now. He's grinding through it and he's working through it and he's doing his best."

The Houston Texans, led by Quessenberry's fellow offensive linemen Chris Myers and Duane Brown, set a goal of raising $100,000 for the Lymphoma Research Foundation with the sale of Texans for DQ t-shirts. It was announced at the Indianapolis game on Oct. 9 that the goal had been reached. Quessenberry, who served as an honorary captain at the game, was on the field to present the check and spoke to the media about the importance of raising awareness for lymphoma, a disease the affects more than 700,000 people in America.

The Ed Block Courage Award honors NFL players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Quessenberry joins past Texans winners ILB Brian Cushing (2013), QB Matt Schaub (2012), LB DeMeco Ryans (2011), TE Joel Dreessen (2010), LB Zac Diles (2009), WR Harry Williams (2008), DE Anthony Weaver (2007), LB Kailee Wong (2006), WR Jabar Gaffney (2005), DT Seth Payne (2004), CB Aaron Glenn (2003) and CB Jason Bell (2002). He will be recognized at the 37th annual Ed Block Courage Awards on March 16, 2015 in Baltimore, Md. 

Since 1984, the Ed Block Courage Award annually honors one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The Ed Block Courage Award has become one of the most prestigious awards a player can receive because no other national football award is chosen solely by a vote of his peers. Winners travel to Baltimore to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and to visit the Ed Block Courage House. The Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in the community. Block was the longtime head athletic trainer for the old Baltimore Colts, who in addition to being a pioneer in athletic training, was passionate about causes helping children.

Houston's Ed Block Courage Award winners:
2014     OG David Quessenberry
2013     ILB Brian Cushing
2012     QB Matt Schaub
2011     ILB DeMeco Ryans
2010     TE Joel Dreessen
2009     LB Zac Diles
2008     WR Harry Williams
2007     DE Anthony Weaver
2006     LB Kailee Wong
2005     WR Jabar Gaffney
2004     DT Seth Payne
2003     CB Aaron Glenn
2002     CB Jason Bell

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content