Skip to main content
Houston Texans

J.J. Watt, Shane Lechler made NFL's All-Decade team | Daily Brew

The NFL and the Pro Football Hall of Fame unveiled its 2010-2019 All-Decade Team and two Texans were on the roster. J.J. Watt and Shane Lechler made the list of the best NFL players at their position, defensive end and punter, respectively, which was announced on Monday.

Watt, the three-time AP Defensive Player of the Year and five-time First-Team All-Pro, was one of just eight players to receive a unanimous selection. Other unanimous selections included: quarterback Tom Brady, defensive tackle Aaron Donald, linebacker Von Miller, running back Adrian Peterson, offensive tackle Joe Thomas, kicker Justin Tucker and guard Marshal Yanda. Watt was also just one of three Walter Payton Man of the Year players to make the team (Calais Cambell – 2019, Larry Fitzgerald – 2016).

Shane Lechler, who played for the Texans for five seasons (2013-17) and 13 for the Oakland Raiders (2000-12), also made the 2000's All-Decade Team. The six-time First-Team All-Pro punter was one of just five individuals to make the team in each of the past two decades, joining head coach Bill Belichick, kick returner Devin Hester and defensive end Julius Peppers.

The 55-member team is the result of votes cast over the last several weeks by the Pro Football Hall of Fame's 48-member selection committee. Only players who received at least one selection to a Pro Bowl, Associated Press All-Pro team or Pro Football Writers of America all-conference team during the 2010-19 seasons were eligible.

To see the complete list of players to make the 2010-2019 team, click here.

Related Content