Skip to main content
Houston Texans

Texans make their Pro Bowl picks

Pro Bowl voting took place around the NFL today, including in Houston. Texans players and coaches made their picks for the Pro Bowl after Wednesday's practice in team meeting rooms at Reliant Stadium. NFL rules require players and coaches to vote for players only on other teams. Offensive players vote for defensive players and vice versa.

Player votes comprise one-third of the selection process, as do coach votes and fan votes, respectively. Fan voting ended yesterday, Dec. 9, after being open since Oct. 13.

One Texan will definitely be representing the team in Honolulu next February: Texans Cheerleader Ashley, who was named as Houston's Pro Bowl representative earlier this week.

Here's a look at Texans players who might be joining Ashley in Hawaii next February:

Wide receiver Andre Johnson: Leads the AFC with 1,201 receiving yards (168 more yards than the next-closest receiver, Denver's Brandon Marshall). Johnson is also second in the NFL with 92 receptions (New England's Wes Welker has 96).

Defensive end Mario Williams:Tenth in the NFL with 11 sacks, which is only 0.5 sacks behind the AFC-leading defensive end, Indy's Robert Mathis (11.5).

Linebacker DeMeco Ryans: Leads the Texans with 94 tackles. Also has one sack and three fumble recoveries. Started in the Pro Bowl last year.

Kicker Kris Brown:A superb 23-of-26 on field goal attempts (88.5 percent), including three on Monday Night Football and a game-winner from 40 yards at Green Bay. Is also perfect on 31 extra point attempts this season.

With the way the Texans' offensive line has played in recent weeks, especially in the run game, I wouldn't be surprised to see a guy like Eric Winston, Chester Pitts or Duane Brown get some votes from the players and coaches as well.

Tight end Owen Daniels, running back Steve Slaton and punt returner Jacoby Jones have all had Pro Bowl-worthy seasons, but may find it hard to earn a trip across the water given the wealth of talent and big-name players in the AFC at their respective positions.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.