Yates voted Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Week


Voters on NFL.com have made their choice. Quarterback T.J. Yates of the Houston Texans is the NFL Rookie of the Week for games played on Dec. 8-12, the NFL announced today.

Yates completed 26-of-44 passes for 300 yards, two touchdowns and an interception in the Texans' 20-19 win over the Cincinnati Bengals. Yates also added five carries for 36 rushing yards, and threw for the game-winning touchdown with only two seconds remaining in the game. The win helped Houston secure its first playoff berth in franchise history.

Yates was selected from among five finalists through fan votes on NFL.com/rookies. The other finalists were wide receiver Doug Baldwin of the Seattle Seahawks, wide receiver Julio Jones of the Atlanta Falcons, quarterback Jake Locker of the Tennessee Titans and wide receiver Titus Young of the Detroit Lions

After the regular season, five players will be nominated for NFL Rookie of the Year honors. Fans can vote for the winner on NFL.com/rookies throughout the month of January. The winner will be announced at a press conference at Super Bowl XLVI in Indianapolis.


Wk 1

Green Bay Packers WR/KR Randall Cobb (Kentucky)

Wk 2

Oakland Raiders WR Denarius Moore (Tennessee)

Wk 3

Oakland Raiders OG Stefen Wisniewski (Penn State)

Wk 4

Carolina Panthers QB Cam Newton (Auburn)

Wk 5

San Francisco 49ers LB Aldon Smith (Missouri)

Wk 6

San Francisco 49ers LB Aldon Smith (Missouri)

Wk 7

Dallas Cowboys RB DeMarco Murray (Oklahoma)

Wk 8

Buffalo Bills NT Marcell Dareus (Alabama)

Wk 9

Cincinnati Bengals QB Andy Dalton (Texas Christian)

Wk 10

Oakland Raiders WR Denarius Moore (Tennessee)

Wk 11

Baltimore Ravens WR Torrey Smith (Maryland)

Wk 12

Cincinnati Bengals QB Andy Dalton (Texas Christian)

Wk 13

Tennessee Titans LB Colin McCarthy (Miami)

Wk 14

Houston Texans QB T.J. Yates (North Carolina)


Jamey Rootes Leadership Scholarship Fund established in memory of former Texans President

Team will hold a moment of silence before Thursday night's game in honor of Rootes.