Skip to main content

Ed Block Courage Award winners, by team

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation released a list today of the 2009 Ed Block Courage Award winners from every NFL team.

Six days ago, the Texans selected linebacker Zac Diles as the team's **2009 Ed Block Courage Award winner**. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field and their ability to overcome great adversity.

Winners of the award travel to Baltimore to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and to visit the Ed Block Courage House. The Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in the community. Block was the longtime head athletic trainer for the old Baltimore Colts, who in addition to being a pioneer in athletic training, was passionate about causes helping children.


Baltimore Ravens Dawan Landry - S
Buffalo Bills James Hardy III – WR
Cincinnati Bengals Bobbie Williams – G
Cleveland Browns Mike Furrey – WR/DB
Denver Broncos Brian Dawkins -S
Houston Texans Zac Diles - LB
Indianapolis Colts Marlin Jackson – CB
Jacksonville Jaguars Richard Collier - OT
Kansas City Chiefs Brodie Croyle – QB
Miami Dolphins Justin Smiley – G
New England Patriots Tom Brady - QB
New York Jets David Harris - LB
Oakland Raiders Tyvon Branch – S
Pittsburgh Steelers Aaron Smith – DE
San Diego Chargers Shawne Merriman – LB
Tennessee Titans Kevin Mawae - C

NFC Arizona Cardinals Kenny Iwebema – DE
Atlanta Falcons Coy Wire – LB
Carolina Panthers Dan Connor – LB
Chicago Bears Israel Idonije – DL
Dallas Cowboys Kyle Kosier - OL
Detroit Lions Jeff Backus – OL
Green Bay Packers Nick Collins – S
Minnesota Vikings E. J. Henderson - LB
New Orleans Saints Anthony Hargrove - DL
New York Giants Fred Robbins – NT
Philadelphia Eagles Michael Vick - QB
San Francisco 49ers Shawntae Spencer – CB
Seattle Seahawks Nate Burleson - WR
St. Louis Rams James Hall – DE
Tampa Bay Bucs Carnell Williams – RB
Washington Redskins Phillip Daniels – DL

Special Courage Award Joe DeCamillis – Special Teams Coordinator ~ Dallas Cowboys

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.