Skip to main content

Fantasy recap: Final


Congratulations go out to "Texans Two-Step," who battled through the good times and bad to win the Texans Fantasy Football Home Team Challenge in 2008.

"Texans Two-Step" finished with a total of 1,851 points for the 2008 season and now can brag to all of his buddies that he is officially a champion… even though he very well could have come in last place in every other league he was in this season.

For his superior ability to move the mouse over the drop-down menus and select the players he thought were going to do the best during that specific week, "Texans Two-Step" has won a Texans 2009 Home Opener Dream Package. That includes two tickets to the Texans' 2009 home opener at the field level along with club level passes, two pre-game sideline passes, one parking pass and one Texans gift bag that will include autographed memorabilia.

In Week 17, team "Fear the Spear" took home a victory in the final weekly competition with 146 points. Quarterback Kurt Warner went for 30, DST Steelers added 29 and wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald accounted for 25 to lead "Fear the Spear" to victory. He is now the proud owner of a Texans mini-helmet autographed by wide receiver Andre Johnson, defensive end Mario Williams, linebacker DeMeco Ryans, quarterback Matt Schaub, defensive end Anthony Weaver, running back Ahman Green, defensive tackle Amobi Okoye and cornerback Dunta Robinson.

In the Texans Celebrity League, everyone had high hopes and big dreams at the beginning of the 2008 season. Patti Smith's "FSN Divas" would try to repeat as Celebrity League Champions, TORO's "Ballers" would try to keep his sanity and not go deranged with his T-shirt guy, and Adam's "Wexler's Warriors" would attempt to draft a winning team for the first time in his career.

In the end, it was the newcomer to the Celebrity League in 2008 that stole the show and became the new champion: Butch Alsandor of KHOU/Channel 11.

Sitting in third place with one week left to play, Alsandor's "Saints" scored 164 points in Week 17 to vault past Matt Jackson of SportsRadio 610 AM and Nick Scurfield of and win the 2008 championship by a 44-point margin.

Coach Alsandor's team finished with a total of 1,684 points in 2008 to claim the Texans Celebrity League Championship.

Quarterback Drew Brees led the way for Alsandor in Week 17 with 37 points, and running backs LaDanian Tomlinson and Michael Turner chipped in with 27 and 24 points, respectively. Not only did Alsandor's 164 points rank No. 1 in the Texans Celebrity League and among all Texans Fans, but he came in at third place in the entire United States!

Ralph Cooper's "kcohcolts" finished second in Week 17 with 124 points. Jackson's "Unbeatable MJ" finished in third place with 106 points.

The TCL Top 3 Final Overall standings:

Butch Alsandor (Saints) – 1,684 points
Ralph Cooper (kcohcolts) – 1,640 points
Matt Jackson (Unbeatable MJ) – 1,636 points

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content