Skip to main content
Houston Texans

Home run derby


Kris Brown is swarmed by media after his impressive outing at Minute Maid.
Not to be outdone by his special teams partner of crime, kicker Kris Brown took home the 2004 Texans home run championship crown at Minute Maid Park yesterday, just one year after punter Chad Stanley earned the honor during the Texans annual afternoon of batting practice.

The Texans split up into two teams based upon the number of years spent on the Houston squad. During the first round of action, quarterback David Carr led the crew with three home runs while Brown hit it out of the park one time.


Under pressure for the title, David Carr hits a lone homer in the final round.
Brown and Carr then went head-to-head as the round-two finalists. Brown stepped up to the plate and let 'er rip, sailing two baseballs into the outfield seats while Carr enjoyed one lone home run.

While the group warmed up the Astros batting practice pitchers for their game against the Cubs, Brown and Stanley proudly relished in their 2-0 special teams batting practice record.

Batting practice slideshow



The young guns: Dunta Robinson, Andre Johnson, DaShon Polk, Marcus Bell, Dave Ragone, Chester Pitts and Bryan Pittman.                            *
*Texans originals: Billy Miller, David Carr, Kris Brown, Steve McKinney, Chad Stanley and Troy Evans.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content