Skip to main content
Houston Texans

J.J. Watt named Defensive Player of Week


Texans defensive end J.J. Watt was named the AFC Defensive Player of the Week for the third time in his career following his dominant performance in Houston's 23-17 win over Buffalo. Watt registered his first career regular season interception and interception return for touchdown, a career-best nine quarterback hits, a pass defensed and five tackles.

With Buffalo looking to cash in on a Texans' turnover to start the second half, Watt changed the complexion of the game when he intercepted Bills quarterback E.J. Manuel and returned it 80 yards for a touchdown. Watt's return ranks tied for sixth in NFL history amongst defensive linemen.

In addition, Watt became only the second player with an interception return for touchdown and a touchdown reception in the same season since the 1970 AFL-NFL merger (Texans Linebackers Coach Mike Vrabelachieved the feat in 2005 with the New England Patriots). Watt also became the first player in NFL history to have more than 35 career sacks and have a touchdown receiving and interception return for a touchdown in NFL history.

Coming into the game, no player had recorded more than eight quarterback hits through the first three weeks of the season combined. Watt had six quarterback hits in the first half, finished with nine and leads the league with 16 quarterback hits through the first quarter of the season.

Watt was named AFC Player of the Week twice in 2012. In Week 3 against Denver, Watt sacked Peyton Manning 2.5 times and led the defense with 10 tackles. In Week 15 against Indianapolis, Watt sacked Andrew Luck three times for a total loss of 22 yards, tallied 13 tackles and forced a fumble.

List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:

Player                        Award                        Week              Year

J.J. Watt                   Defensive                    4                      2014

J.J. Watt                     Defensive                    15                    2012

Matt Schaub              Offensive                    11                    2012

J.J. Watt                     Defensive                    3                      2012

Arian Foster               Offensive                    7                      2011

Arian Foster               Offensive                    4                      2011

Glover Quin               Defensive                    12                    2010

Matt Schaub              Offensive                    6                      2010

Andre Johnson          Offensive                    2                      2010

Arian Foster               Offensive                    1                      2010

Brian Cushing            Defensive                    8                      2009

Brian Cushing            Defensive                    6                      2009

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams             4                      2009

Matt Schaub              Offensive                    2                      2009

Matt Schaub              Offensive                    14                    2008

Steve Slaton              Offensive                    13                    2008

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams             8                      2008

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams             6                      2008

André Davis              Special Teams             14                    2007

Kris Brown                Special Teams             5                      2007

Mario Williams          Defensive                    1                      2007

Kris Brown                Special Teams             16                    2006

DeMeco Ryans          Defensive                    13                    2006

Andre Johnson          Offensive                    4                      2006

Jerome Mathis           Special Teams             8                      2005

Kris Brown                Special Teams             3                      2004

Chad Stanley             Special Teams             9                      2003

Avion Black              Special Teams             15                    2002

Aaron Glenn              Defensive                    14                    2002



This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content