Skip to main content
Houston Texans

Sharper wins 2003 Quarterback Club Award



]()Linebacker Jamie Sharper, the Texans' leading tackler through 14 games, won the 2003 Houston Texans Quarterback Club Player of the Year Award Tuesday night at Reliant Stadium.

General manager Charley Casserly presented the award to Sharper, who leads the team in tackles (167), sacks (4) and forced fumbles (3). Other nominees for the award were cornerback Aaron Glenn, quarterback David Carr, running back Domanick Davis, guard Zach Wiegert, center Steve McKinney and wide receiver Andre Johnson. Glenn won the award last year.

In addition to Sharper's honor, the Texans also announced the Houston-area winner of the 2003 NFL Community Quarterback Award. This year the award went to Shirley Grimes of the Tamina Community Center. Grimes received a check for $10,000 for the community center from Texans vice chairman Philip Burguières and Joanie Haley, the executive director of the Houston Texans Foundation.

Congrats to Jamie, Shirley and the rest of the nominees!

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content