Skip to main content

Texans set to begin free agency


Twenty Texans players are slated to become free agents when the 2013 league year begins at 3 p.m. CT. on Tuesday.

Free safety Glover Quin, outside linebacker Connor Barwin, fullback James Casey and cornerback Brice McCain are among the Texans' 19 unrestricted free agents. Tackle Andrew Gardner is the Texans' only restricted free agent. PHOTOS: Texans 2013 free agents

Starting nose tackle Shaun Cody and inside linebacker Bradie James also are free agents. Other significant contributors from last season set to hit the open market include punter Donnie Jones, inside linebacker and special teams captain Tim Dobbins, running back Justin Forsett, cornerback Alan Ball, kicker Shayne Graham and offensive tackle Ryan Harris.

The Texans' other free agents are linebacker Jesse Nading, safety Quintin Demps, tackle Rashad Butler, guard Antoine Caldwell, inside linebackers Barrett Ruud and Keyaron Fox and cornerback Stanford Routt.

The Texans, whose negotiations are led by general manager Rick Smith and vice president of football administration Chris Olsen, can re-sign their free agents before the start of the new league year. Those players' agents were able to begin negotiations with other teams on Saturday via a new NFL rule, although no deals can be completed until 3 p.m. on Tuesday.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content