Cushing retains DROY award after re-vote


Texans linebacker Brian Cushing retained the 2009 AP NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year award on Wednesday after an unprecedented re-vote.


Click here to watch Cushing's press conference with Houston media live on Texans TV at 1 p.m. CT on Thursday.

After an unprecedented re-vote by the Associated Press, Texans linebacker Brian Cushing has retained the 2009 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year award.

Cushing originally won the award on Jan. 5 after receiving 39 of 50 votes from the AP's national panel of writers and broadcasters. On Monday, the AP called for a re-vote in light of Cushing's recent suspension for the first four games of the 2010 season for violating the NFL policy on performance-enhancing substances. Voting concluded today at 11 a.m.

"I'm very, very happy that I was able to keep the award," Cushing said, according to the Houston Chronicle. "A lot of voters stuck with me, and I really appreciate that... It's been tough. I'm glad this part is over."

Cushing received 18 votes in the second round of balloting. Buffalo Bills safety Jairus Byrd was second with 13 votes, followed by Green Bay Packers linebacker Clay Matthews III (10 votes), Washington Redskins linebacker Brian Orakpo (three) and St. Louis Rams linebacker James Lauirinaitis (one).

Three AP voters were not available to cast ballots, and two voters abstained.

In the original balloting, Byrd finished second with six votes, followed by Matthews (three) and Orakpo (two).

Also on Wednesday, the AP reported that Cushing lost his spot on its All-Pro second team. Cushing finished third among NFL outside linebackers with five All-Pro votes in January, but he got only one vote this time around.

Follow Nick Scurfield on Twitter at * or find him on the "I'm A Texan Club" at*

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content