Skip to main content

DeAndre Hopkins, Tytus Howard receive 2019 PFWA honors

The Pro Football Writers of America announced their annual NFL honors on Tuesday, naming DeAndre Hopkins to the 2019 PFWA All-AFC Team and right tackle Tytus Howard to the 2019 PFWA All-Rookie Team.

Hopkins has been selected to the All-AFC Team four times in his career (2015, 2017-19). Following his stellar 2019 performance, Hopkins was also named AP First-Team All-Pro for a third consecutive season.The seven-year veteran surpassed 1,000 receiving yards for the fifth time in the last six seasons, recording 104 receptions for 1,165 yards and seven touchdowns in 15 games. Hopkins also started in both playoff contests and recorded postseason career highs in receptions (15) and receiving yards (208).

Tytus Howard was one of two offensive tackles, along with Jacksonville's Jawaan Taylor, to be named to PFWA's All-Rookie Team. The Texans' 2019 first-round draft pick started eight games for the Texans, one at left guard and seven at right tackle, before a season-ending knee injury cut his rookie campaign short. Howard was part of an offensive line that paved the way for a 1,000-yard rusher in Carlos Hyde and helped tie the team record for most overall touchdowns scored (46) in a single season in team history.

Related Content