Down to 1: Texans in 1st round of NFL Draft

After a week of counting down the Texans' history in the NFL Draft, round-by-round, we've arrived at the first.

The Texans have never traded out of the first round, and had a selection in every year they've existed. In 2004 they traded for an additional pick in the first. In 2008, they traded back in the first. They moved up a spot in the first last year.

Of the 16 selections, seven became Pro Bowlers with the club. Those seven combined for 19 Pro Bowls as Texans, and Mario Williams was picked for two more after leaving in free agency in 2011.

In the franchise's second year, wide receiver Andre Johnson was picked with the third overall selection. The team's greatest offensive player went to seven Pro Bowls, tallied three seasons of 1,500 receiving yards or more, and was a force at wideout.

Left tackle Duane Brown was the 26th overall selection in 2008, and he's been a rock on the offensive line for Houston. With three Pro Bowl selections, Brown's been one of the key's to the franchise's success over the last decade.

Brian Cushing from Southern California in 2009 burst onto the scene and was a Pro Bowler in his Rookie of the Year-winning debut season. In 2011 he was the Team MVP, and last December he passed DeMeco Ryans to become the leader on the Texans all-time tackles list.

Defensive end J.J. Watt came out of Wisconsin in 2011, and has won the NFL Defensive Player of the Year award three times. He's the only player in NFL history to record 20 or more sacks in a season twice.

Wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins has 4,487 career receiving yards in just four NFL seasons, and has been to a Pro Bowl. In his time as a Texan, he's seen nine different players start at qaurterback.

2002 (1)David CarrQBFresno St.
2003 (3)Andre JohnsonWRMiami (FL)
2004 (10)Dunta RobinsonCBSouth Carolina
2004 (27)Jason BabinLBWestern Michigan
2005 (16)Travis JohnsonDTFlorida St.
2006 (1)Mario WilliamsDENorth Carolina St.
2007 (10)Amobi OkoyeDTLouisville
2008 (26)Duane BrownOTVirginia Tech
2009 (15)Brian CushingLBUSC
2010 (20)Kareem JacksonCBAlabama
2011 (11)J.J. WattDEWisconsin
2012 (26)Whitney MercilusLBIllinois
2013 (27)DeAndre HopkinsWRClemson
2014 (1)Jadeveon ClowneyDESouth Carolina
2015 (16)Kevin JohnsonCBWake Forest
2016 (21)Will FullerWRNotre Dame

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content