Skip to main content

PFWA names 2 Texans to All-NFL Team

The Pro Football Writers of America announced their 2018 selections for their All-NFL team on Tuesday. Wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins and defensive end J.J. Watt were named to both the All-NFL team and All-AFC team.

Hopkins is one of eight repeat selections from the PFWA's 2017 All-NFL team. Watt was named All-NFL for a fifth time (2012-15, 2018). Both were named First-Team All-Pros and selected to the Pro Bowl after their 2018 performances. Watt was also named to the Second-Team All-Pro as an interior defensive lineman.

Hopkins caught 11 touchdown passes and finished the season ranked second in the NFL with 1,572 receiving yards. He ranked third in the NFL in receptions with a single-season career-high 115 and first in receiving first downs with 81. Hopkins led all offensive skill players (WR, RB, TE and FB) in playtime percentage in 2018, playing in 99.09 percent of Houston's offensive plays.

Watt started all 16 games in 2018 after back-to-back seasons cut short by injury. In his return, Watt led the AFC with 16.0 sacks, while compiling 61 total tackles, 25 quarterback hits, 18 tackles for loss, four passes defensed. His seven forced fumbles tied for the NFL lead in 2018. Watt recorded his fourth season with at least 15.0 sacks, which is the second-most in NFL history, behind only Reggie White (five).

Related Content