Skip to main content
Houston Texans

Daily Brew: Texans All-Presidents' Name Team

Happy Presidents' Day.

In honor of the holiday, and hopefully you're one of the lucky ones who had today off, we're taking a look through the franchise database and compiling all the players in team history who share a last name with a U.S. president. In all, 29 Texans have the same last name as a Commander-in-Chief. The greatest of them all, receiver Andre Johnson, has the same surname as Lyndon B. Johnson, who served from 1963 until 1969, and Andrew Johnson (1865-1869).

Johnson is the most common presidential last name in team history, as 12 Texans have that surname.

Since there are 29 names, and you only need 11 on offense and 11 on defense to play a game, we decided to compile an all-time roster of presidential names. While Andre Johnson is a nice start, and guys like RB Duke Johnson, WR/Returner DeAndre Carter and CB Kareem Jackson can help, the pickings can get pretty slim in spots. So slim, in fact, that we're putting Jerrell Adams, who played well in the 2019 preseason at tight end, on the offensive line. It's either that, or make Travis Johnson play both ways. Since Adams is the only tight end in the mix, and he's now playing o-line, we'll go with a running back and four wideouts.

Nobody's saying this lineup would crush the '85 Bears. Or even hang with the 2019 Texans, for that matter. It's just a goofy exercise on a bank holiday, so don't take this too seriously.


QB - Josh Johnson, 2017 (Andrew Johnson, 1865-69, Lyndon Johnson, 1963-69)

RB - Duke Johnson, 2019-current

WR - Andre Johnson, 2003-2014

WR - Bryant Johnson, 2011

WR - Nate Washington, 2015 (George Washington, 1789-1797)

WR - DeAndre Carter, 2018-Current, (Jimmy Carter, 1977-81)

OL - Roderick Johnson, 2017- Current

OL - Jeff Adams, 2014-15 (John Adams, 1797-1801, John Quincy Adams, 1825-29)

OL - Scott Jackson, 2006 (Andrew Jackson, 1829-1837)

OL - Todd Washington, 2003-2005

OL - Jerrell Adams, 2019


DE - Willie Jefferson, 2013 (Thomas Jefferson, 1801-09)

DT - Travis Johnson, 2005-08

DT - Thomas Johnson, 2006

LB - Tyrell Adams, 2018-current

LB - DaShon Polk, 2004-06 (James K. Polk, 1845-49)

CB - Kareem Jackson, 2010-18

CB - Kevin Johnson, 2015-18

CB - Lonnie Johnson, Jr, 2019-current

DB - Brandon Harrison, 2008 (William H. Harrison, 1841, Benjamin Harrison, 1889-93)

S - Eugene Wilson, 2008-10 (Woodrow Wilson, 1913-21)

S - Mike Adams, 2019-current


Chris Carter, DB, 2002

Damaris Johnson, WR, 2014

Dennis Johnson, RB, 2013

Derrick Johnson, DB, 2006

Chris Polk, RB, 2015

Chris Taylor, RB, 2006, 2008 (Zachary Taylor, 1849-50)

Nate Washington, WR, 2015

Related Content