Texans history in 3rd round of NFL Draft

The Texans have picked in the 3rd round 22 times since 2002.

They've done a solid job finding offensive linemen in that spot.

Over the last week, we've looked at the franchise's history in each round.

Today, the 3rd round is on tap. Because of a trade with Seattle, as well as a compensatory selection, the Texans have a trio of picks in that round this year. They'll choose 68th overall, 80th overall and 98th overall. Houston's most successful players taken there have been Eric Winston, Brandon Brooks, Earl Mitchell, Jacoby Jones and C.J. Fiedorowicz.

Winston was a mainstay on the right side at tackle, starting seven games as a rookie in 2006, and then reeling off a string of five consecutive seasons with 16 starts apiece. He signed with the Chiefs in free agency in 2012, and has spent the past four years with the Bengals.

Brooks came to Houston out of Miami of Ohio in 2012 and played in six games his rookie season. From 2013 through 2015 he started 15, 15, and 14 games respectively. In the 2016 offseason he signed with the Eagles.

Defensive lineman Earl Mitchell contributed out of Arizona, seeing eaction 63 games during his four years as a Texan. He spent the past three seasons in Miami, and signed with the 49ers in 2017.

Out of Lane College in 2007 came receiver/returner Jacoby Jones. In his five years with Houston he scored 15 touchdowns through the air and on returns.

Last April, the Texans took running back D'Onta Foreman in the third out of Texas. He went on to rush for 327 yards on 78 carries, with a pair of touchdowns.

<table border="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td>YEAR (PICK)</td> <td>PLAYER</td> <td>POSITION</td> <td>SCHOOL</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2002 (66)</td> <td>Fred Weary</td> <td>OL</td> <td>Tennessee</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2002 (83)</td> <td>Charles Hill</td> <td>DT</td> <td>Maryland</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2003 (67)</td> <td>Antwan Peek</td> <td>LB</td> <td>Cincinnati</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2003 (75)</td> <td>Seth Wand</td> <td>OL</td> <td>NW Missouri St.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2003 (88)</td> <td>Dave Ragone</td> <td>QB</td> <td>Louisville</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2005 (73)</td> <td>Vernand Morency</td> <td>RB</td> <td>Oklahoma St.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2006 (65)</td> <td>Charles Spencer</td> <td>OL</td> <td>Pittsburgh</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2006 (66)</td> <td>Eric Winston</td> <td>OL</td> <td>Miami (FL)</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2007 (73)</td> <td>Jacoby Jones</td> <td>WR</td> <td>Lane College</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2008 (79)</td> <td>Antwaun Molden</td> <td>DB</td> <td>East. Kentucky</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2008 (89)</td> <td>Steve Slaton</td> <td>RB</td> <td>West Virginia</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2009 (77)</td> <td>Antoine Caldwell</td> <td>OL</td> <td>Alabama</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2010 (81)</td> <td>Earl Mitchell</td> <td>DT</td> <td>Arizona</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2012 (68)</td> <td>DeVier Posey</td> <td>WR</td> <td>Ohio St.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2012 (76)</td> <td>Brandon Brooks</td> <td>OL</td> <td>Miami (OH)</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2013 (89)</td> <td>Brennan Williams</td> <td>OL</td> <td>North Carolina</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2013 (95)</td> <td>Sam Montgomery</td> <td>DE</td> <td>LSU</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2014 (65)</td> <td>C.J. Fiedorowicz</td> <td>TE</td> <td>Iowa</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2014 (83)</td> <td>Louis Nix</td> <td>DT</td> <td>Notre Dame</td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="1">2015 (70)</td> <td colspan="1">Jaelen Strong</td> <td colspan="1">WR</td> <td colspan="1">Arizona St.</td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="1">2016 (85)</td> <td colspan="1">Braxton Miller</td> <td colspan="1">WR</td> <td colspan="1">Ohio St.</td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="1">2017 (89)</td> <td colspan="1">D'Onta Foreman</td> <td colspan="1">RB</td> <td colspan="1">Texas</td> </tr> </tbody> </table>

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content