Skip to main content

Weaver wins Ed Block Courage award


The Houston Texans have selected defensive end Anthony Weaver as the 2007 Ed Block Courage Award winner. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field and their ability to overcome great adversity. Weaver joins past Texans winners: linebacker Kailee Wong (2006), wide receiver Jabar Gaffney (2005), defensive tackle Seth Payne (2004), cornerback Aaron Glenn (2003) and cornerback Jason Bell (2002). He will be recognized at the 30th annual Ed Block Courage Awards the weekend of March 9-11, 2008 in Baltimore, Md.

Weaver (6-3, 286) battled through injuries towards the latter part of the 2006 season, before being placed on injured reserve on Dec. 27, 2006. Weaver suffered a right rotator cuff injury in Week 16 against Indianapolis. He had surgery to repair the damage on Jan. 3, 2007.

During the offseason, Weaver also had right knee scoped to improve his mobility. He spent eight months working with the Texans training staff in preparation for the 2007 season opener. He has appeared in all 12 games with 10 starts this season making, 30 tackles. He has mentored the Texans young defensive line that includes defensive end Mario Williams, who has a team-record 8.5 sacks and defensive tackle Amobi Okoye who holds the Texans rookie record with 5.0 sacks.

Since 1984, the Ed Block Courage Award annually honors one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The Ed Block Courage Award has become one of the most prestigious awards a player can receive because no other national football award is chosen solely by a vote of his peers. Winners travel to Baltimore to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and to visit the Ed Block Courage House. The Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in the community. Block was the longtime head athletic trainer for the old Baltimore Colts, who in addition to being a pioneer in athletic training, was passionate about causes helping children.

**Houston's Ed Block Courage Award winners:


* 2007 **Defensive end Anthony Weaver
2006 Linebacker Kailee Wong
2005 Wide receiver Jabar Gaffney
2004 Defensive tackle Seth Payne
2003 Cornerback Aaron Glenn
2002 Cornerback Jason Bell

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content