Skip to main content

Andre Hal voted 2018 Ed Block Courage Award winner

The Houston Texans have selected S Andre Hal as the 2018 Ed Block Courage Award winner. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field and their ability to overcome great adversity.

Hal was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma after experiencing blurred vision during OTAs in May 2018. Determined to return to the football field in 2018, the fifth-year NFL veteran was declared in remission in September after undergoing treatment at the MD Anderson Cancer Center and made his season debut against the Jacksonville Jaguars on October 25. 

"From the moment Andre was diagnosed, there was no doubt in his mind that he would beat it, become cancer-free and play football again this season," said Senior Director of Sports Medicine and Head Athletic Trainer Geoff Kaplan. "Andre was and continues to be an inspiration to everyone at NRG Stadium for his perseverance and unwavering determination to win his battle with cancer."

A seventh-round selection in the 2014 NFL Draft who converted from cornerback to safety following his rookie season, Hal quickly blossomed into a mainstay in the Texans' defensive backfield. He has played in 68 career games, including 39 starts, and leads the team interceptions since 2014 with 11. Hal also owns career tallies of 158 total tackles (123 solo), 30 passes defensed, six tackles for loss and two forced fumbles.  

"I am honored and grateful to be chosen by my teammates as the winner of the Ed Block Courage Award," said Hal. "With the support and encouragement of my teammates I was able to achieve my ultimate goal of getting back on the field, and I couldn't have done it without them."

The Ed Block Courage Award, established in 1984 and given to one player from every NFL team, honors players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Hal joins past Texans winners T Derek Newton (2017), T Duane Brown (2016), DE/OLB Jadeveon Clowney (2015), G David Quessenberry (2014), ILB Brian Cushing (2013), QB Matt Schaub (2012), LB DeMeco Ryans (2011), TE Joel Dreessen (2010), LB Zac Diles (2009), WR Harry Williams (2008), DE Anthony Weaver (2007), LB Kailee Wong (2006), WR Jabar Gaffney (2005), DT Seth Payne (2004), CB Aaron Glenn (2003) and CB Jason Bell (2002). He will be recognized at the 41st annual Ed Block Courage Awards in March.

The Ed Block Courage Award has become one of the most prestigious awards a player can receive because no other national football award is chosen solely by a vote of his peers. Winners travel to Baltimore to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and to visit the Ed Block Courage House. The Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in the community. Block was the longtime head athletic trainer for the old Baltimore Colts, who in addition to being a pioneer in athletic training, was passionate about causes helping children.


2018      S Andre Hal

2017      T Derek Newton

2016      T Duane Brown

2015      DE/OLB Jadeveon Clowney

2014      G David Quessenberry

2013      ILB Brian Cushing

2012      QB Matt Schaub

2011      ILB DeMeco Ryans

2010      TE Joel Dreessen

2009      LB Zac Diles

2008      WR Harry Williams

2007      DE Anthony Weaver

2006    LB Kailee Wong

2005    WR Jabar Gaffney

2004    DT Seth Payne

2003    CB Aaron Glenn

2002    CB Jason Bell

Related Content