Skip to main content

Davis wins AFC honors


* HOUSTON* – The NFL announced today that Houston Texans wide receiver André Davis was named AFC Specials Teams Player of the Week for Week 14, capturing the award for the second time in his career and his first as a Texan. Houston has had 11 players win AFC Player of the Week honors in team history—one on offense, three on defense and seven on special teams.

Davis (6-1, 194) returned the opening kickoff of the second half 97 yards for a touchdown in Sunday's 28-14 victory over Tampa Bay. The touchdown gave the Texans a 21-7 lead and ultimately proved to be the winning score. Davis' return came against a Tampa Bay kick coverage unit that entered the game ranked second in the NFL, allowing just 17.6 yards per return.

Davis' touchdown was the fourth kickoff return for a score in Texans history and the team's second of the season. Wide receiver Jerome Mathis had an 87-yarder on the opening kickoff in Week 3 vs. Indianapolis.

Davis previously earned AFC Special Teams Player of the Week accolades during his rookie season in 2002 as a member of the Cleveland Browns. In Week 7 of that season, Davis set a career high with 168 kickoff return yards vs. the Texans (10/20/02), including a 95-yard kickoff return for a touchdown.

Davis is the third Texans player to earn a player of the week award this season. He joins teammates defensive end Mario Williams, who won the AFC Defensive Player of the Week (Week 1), and kicker Kris Brown, who won the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week (Week 5) as the three Texans to garner the award this season.

This is the fourth NFL honor this season for the Texans. Defensive tackle Amobi Okoye was named Defensive Rookie of the Month in September.

*List of Texans AFC Players of the Week Award winners: *

Player Award * Week Year*
André Davis Special Teams 14 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 5 2007
Mario Williams Defensive 1 2007
Kris Brown Special teams 16 2006
DeMeco Ryans Defensive 13 2006
Andre Johnson Offensive 4 2006
Jerome Mathis Special teams 8 2005
Kris Brown Special teams 3 2004
Chad Stanley Special teams 9 2003
Avion Black Special teams 15 2002
Aaron Glenn Defensive 14 2002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content