Skip to main content

Duane Brown voted Ed Block Courage winner

HOUSTON - The Houston Texans have selected T Duane Brown as the 2016 Ed Block Courage Award winner. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field and their ability to overcome great adversity.

Brown tore his quadriceps tendon in last year's regular-season finale against the Jacksonville Jaguars and was forced to undergo surgery to repair the injury in early January 2016. The nine-year NFL veteran rehabbed the surgically repaired leg for nearly nine months before returning to the field this season against the Minnesota Vikings in Week 5.

Brown, a three-time Pro Bowler, has been a dominant player on the left side of the line for the Texans since his return. The former first-round pick has helped the Texans rush for over 100 yards in eight of the last nine games. Brown also hasn't allowed a sack this season and has been called for holding just one time. In his entire career, Brown has been called for holding just seven times in 130 total starts. Houston has had a 1,000-yard rusher in six-of-nine seasons with Brown on the team as Lamar Miller became the third different running back to do it in 2016.

"Duane had to endure a rigorous rehab to overcome such a significant injury, but he remained consistent and committed through the highs and lows of the process," said Director of Sports Medicine/Head Athletic Trainer Geoff Kaplan. "Through his hard work, determination, perseverance and incredible work ethic, Duane has returned to his dominant form and continues to be the leader of the Texans offensive line."

The Ed Block Courage Award honors NFL players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Brown joins past Texans winners DE Jadeveon Clowney (2015), G David Quessenberry (2014), ILB Brian Cushing (2013), QB Matt Schaub (2012), LB DeMeco Ryans (2011), TE Joel Dreessen (2010), LB Zac Diles (2009), WR Harry Williams (2008), DE Anthony Weaver (2007), LB Kailee Wong (2006), WR Jabar Gaffney (2005), DT Seth Payne (2004), CB Aaron Glenn (2003) and CB Jason Bell (2002). He will be recognized at the 39th annual Ed Block Courage Awards in March.

Since 1984, the Ed Block Courage Award annually honors one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The Ed Block Courage Award has become one of the most prestigious awards a player can receive because no other national football award is chosen solely by a vote of his peers. Winners travel to Baltimore to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and to visit the Ed Block Courage House. The Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in the community. Block was the longtime head athletic trainer for the old Baltimore Colts, who in addition to being a pioneer in athletic training, was passionate about causes helping children.


2016          T Duane Brown**2015       DE Jadeveon Clowney
2014       G David Quessenberry
2013       ILB Brian Cushing
2012       QB Matt Schaub
2011       ILB DeMeco Ryans
2010       TE Joel Dreessen
2009       LB Zac Diles
2008       WR Harry Williams
2007       DE Anthony Weaver
2006       LB Kailee Wong
2005       WR Jabar Gaffney
2004       DT Seth Payne
2003       CB Aaron Glenn
2002       CB Jason Bell

LT Duane Brown's time as a Texan and Virginia Tech Hokie is chronicled here in photos.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content