Houston Texans announce their 2020 team captains

The Houston Texans voted for their 2020 team captains and the results are a mix of veterans with a few new faces.

The Texans announced seven team captains on Wednesday: Dylan Cole, Benardrick McKinney, J.J. Watt, Deshaun Watson, Michael Thomas, A.J. Moore and Nick Martin. With two defensive (Watt, McKinney), two offensive (Watson, Martin) and three players representing special teams (Moore, Cole, Thomas), the team captain mix is a group of leaders on all three sides of the ball.

View this post on Instagram

Introducing the 2020 #Texans Captains! #WeAreTexans

A post shared by Houston Texans (@houstontexans) on

Three-time AP Defensive Player of the Year J.J. Watt is the longest-tenured player, now in his tenth NFL season while A.J. Moore is the youngest in his third season with the Texans. Moore, an undrafted safety, has had led Houston in special teams tackles since he arrived in 2018. Michael Thomas is the newest Texan to be named a team captain. The Texans signed the seventh-year safety and special teamer in April. Thomas has been one of the leaders in the social justice initiatives on the team.

The Texans travel to Kansas City to face the Chiefs in the first game of the 2020 NFL season on Thursday night. Kickoff is set for 7:20 p.m. CT on NBC and SportsRadio 610.

Related Content