J.J. Watt, Duane Brown named first-team AP All-Pro


Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt and left tackle Duane Brown were named to the Associated Press All-Pro First Team today, while wide receiver Andre Johnson was selected to the AP All-Pro Second Team. The Texans' three AP All-Pro players are the second-most in franchise single-season history, behind the four second-team selections in 2011.

Watt is one of two unanimous selections along with Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson and is making his first appearance on the All-Pro team. Brown, who was named to the 2011 All-Pro Second Team, is the third player in Texans history, along with Johnson (2008-09 First Team, 2012 Second Team) and RB Arian Foster (2010 First Team and 2011 Second Team), to earn multiple All-Pro selections.

The AP All-Pro Team is determined by a 50-member panel of national pro football writers, with one vote cast per voter for each member of the All-Pro team.

Watt (6-5, 295) emerged as one of the league's premier defenders in 2012 as he led the NFL with 20.5 sacks. He became the only player in NFL history with at least 15 sacks and 15 passes defensed in the same season. He earned AFC Defensive Player of the Month honors for September and December, thus becoming the only player in franchise history to win the award twice in one season. He led the team with 107 tackles, 39 tackles for loss, 42 QB hits, four forced fumbles, and had two fumble recoveries. He had 16 passes defensed, the most ever by a defensive lineman. Watt was also voted as the Texans' Most Valuable Player by his teammates.

Brown (6-4, 320) anchored the line for the NFL's seventh-ranked offense and helped the Texans produce a 1,000-yard rusher for the third consecutive season. The fifth-year veteran has been penalized for holding just twice in 76 career games. Brown was also selected to his first Pro Bowl this season.

Johnson (6-3, 230) followed an injury-riddled 2011 season with a career performance in 2012. The 10th-year veteran led the AFC with a career-high 1,598 receiving yards and was second in the conference with 112 receptions. Johnson eclipsed several career milestones in 2012 including the 11,000-yard mark in Week 15. He then became the 25th player in NFL history to amass 800 receptions in Week 16. He was named AFC Offensive Player of the Month in November when he led the AFC in receptions (35), receiving yards (614), and yards from scrimmage (614). Johnson averaged 153.5 receiving yards per game in four November games. He had a career-high 14 receptions for 273 yards at Detroit on Thanksgiving Day. Following a standout season, he now ranks 27th on the all-time receiving yards list with 11,254 and 22nd on the all-time receptions list with 818.

List of Texans AP All-Pro Honorees:
Player Position Squad Year
J.J. Watt DE First 2012
Duane Brown LT First 2012
Andre Johnson WR Second 2012
Duane Brown LT Second 2011
Brian Cushing ILB Second 2011
Arian Foster RB Second 2011
Johnathan Joseph CB Second 2011
Arian Foster RB First 2010
Vonta Leach FB First 2010
Andre Johnson WR First 2009
Brian Cushing LB Second 2009
Andre Johnson WR First 2008
Mario Williams DE Second 2007
DeMeco Ryans LB Second 2007
Jerome Mathis KR First 2005

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content