Skip to main content

Johnson named NFL Alumni WR of the Year


Johnson is the Texans' first two-time winner of an NFL Alumni award.

Texans wide receiver Andre Johnson was named the NFL Alumni Wide Receiver of the Year for the second time in his career. He was also honored by the NFL Alumni in 2006. Johnson joins defensive end Mario Williams (2007) and kick returner Jerome Mathis (2005) as Texans to receive the award. Houston holds the distinction as the only team in the NFL to have a player honored over each of the last four seasons.

Johnson will be honored along with the other 2008 recipients at the 27th annual Player of the Year Awards Dinner, to be held Friday, Jan. 30, 2009, at the Hyatt Regency Tampa in Tampa, Fla. During the awards ceremony, each honoree will receive his NFL Alumni Player of the Year award from a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame who once played the same position.

Johnson led the NFL in receptions and receiving yards, becoming the first player to do so since Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Chad Johnson in 2005. He finished the season with an NFL-best 115 receptions, marking the second time in his career he has led the NFL in receptions. He finished the season with an NFL-best 1,575 receiving yards.

His receiving yards are the most in the NFL since 2003. He set an NFL record with seven 10-plus reception games in a season. Johnson tied for the NFL lead with eight 100-plus yard receiving games, and the Texans were 6-2 when Johnson topped 100 yards. He tied a Texans record and career-high with eight touchdown receptions.

The following are the Texans' all-time NFL Alumni Award Recipients:

Wide receiver—Andre Johnson (2008)
Wide receiver—Andre Johnson (2006)
Defensive Lineman—Mario Williams (2007)
Special Teams Player—Jerome Mathis (2005)

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content