Skip to main content

Matt Schaub voted 2012 Ed Block Courage Award winner


The Texans have selected QB Matt Schaub as their 2012 Ed Block Courage Award winner.  Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field and their ability to overcome great adversity. Schaub joins past Texans winners LB DeMeco Ryans (2011), TE Joel Dreessen (2010), LB Zac Diles (2009), WR Harry Williams (2008), DE Anthony Weaver (2007), LB Kailee Wong (2006), WR Jabar Gaffney (2005), DT Seth Payne (2004), CB Aaron Glenn (2003) and CB Jason Bell (2002).  He will be recognized at the 35th annual Ed Block Courage Awards on DATE  in Baltimore, Maryland.  

Schaub (6'5", 241) suffered a season-ending Lisfranc injury against Tampa Bay in Week 10 of the 2011 season. A starter since 2007, Schaub was enjoying a career season with 2,479 passing yards, 15 touchdowns, and a 96.8 quarterback rating at the time of his injury. After enduring a long and arduous rehabilitation process from his injury, Schaub returned to form in 2012. He has led the Texans to wins in 16 of his last 18 starts and has completed 367-of-567 passes with 27 touchdowns and 11 interceptions during that span.

The former Pro Bowler has bounced back in 2012 as a team captain and leader of the Texans' offensive attack.  Schaub has thrown for 3,555 yards, which ranks fifth in the AFC, and 22 touchdowns this season. His 64.7 completion percentage is the second highest among all AFC quarterbacks.

Since 1984, the Ed Block Courage Award annually honors one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The Ed Block Courage Award has become one of the most prestigious awards a player can receive because no other national football award is chosen solely by a vote of his peers. Winners travel to Baltimore to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and to visit the Ed Block Courage House. The Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in the community. Block was the longtime head athletic trainer for the old Baltimore Colts, who in addition to being a pioneer in athletic training, was passionate about causes helping children.

Houston's Ed Block Courage Award winners:
2012   QB Matt Schaub
2011   ILB DeMeco Ryans
2010   TE Joel Dreessen
2009   LB Zac Diles
2008   WR Harry Williams
2007   DE Anthony Weaver
2006  LB Kailee Wong
2005   WR Jabar Gaffney
2004   DT Seth Payne
2003   CB Aaron Glenn
2002   CB Jason Bell

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content