Skip to main content

Houston Texans DB Tavierre Thomas Named AFC Defensive Player of the Week

The NFL has named Houston Texans DB Tavierre Thomas the AFC Defensive Player of the Week following his performance in the team's 41-29 victory over the Los Angeles Chargers in Week 16. This marks the first Player of the Week award of his NFL career and the team's first Defensive award since Week 2 of the 2019 campaign.

In Week 15, Thomas finished with eight tackles (six solo), one pass defensed and one interception that he returned 48 yards for his first career touchdown. Thomas was just one-of-two players in the AFC to register a touchdown on defense in Week 16 and just one of four to do so overall in the NFL for the weekend's slate of games. His timely interception came in the midst of an 11-point game late in the fourth quarter that helped the club seal a victory. His 48-yard return also amounted to be the most interception return yards of the week and most by an AFC defender since Week 13.

Additionally, Thomas was the only player in the AFC with at least eight tackles and one interception. He excelled in coverage throughout the game, allowing just a 37.5 passer rating on five total targets, the third-best mark in the AFC in Week 16 per NFL Next Gen Stats.

This marks the 51st time a Texan has been named Player of the Week in franchise history and the second week in a row after DB Tremon Smith earned Special Teams Player of the Week honors in Week 15. It is also the 18th time Houston has won the AFC Defensive Player of the Week award in team history.

Table inside Article
Player Award Week Season
Tavierre Thomas Defensive 16 2021
Tremon Smith Special Teams 15 2021
Deshaun Watson Offensive 11 2020
Angelo Blackson Special Teams 15 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 13 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 5 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 3 2019
Whitney Mercilus Defensive 2 2019
Ka'imi Fairbairn Special Teams 15 2018
J.J. Watt Defensive 12 2018
Jadeveon Clowney Defensive 4 2018
Johnathan Joseph Defensive 6 2017
Deshaun Watson Offensive 4 2017
Shane Lechler Special Teams 8 2016
Will Fuller V Special Teams 4 2016
Whitney Mercilus Defensive 1 2016
J.J. Watt Defensive 17 2015
J.J. Watt Defensive 11 2015
DeAndre Hopkins Offensive 6 2015
Randy Bullock Special Teams 16 2014
Ryan Fitzpatrick Offensive 13 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 11 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 4 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 15 2012
Matt Schaub Offensive 11 2012
J.J. Watt Defensive 3 2012
Arian Foster Offensive 7 2011
Arian Foster Offensive 4 2011
Glover Quin Defensive 12 2010
Matt Schaub Offensive 6 2010
Andre Johnson Offensive 2 2010
Arian Foster Offensive 1 2010
Brian Cushing Defensive 8 2009
Brian Cushing Defensive 6 2009
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 4 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 2 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 14 2008
Steve Slaton Offensive 13 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 8 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 6 2008
André Davis Special Teams 14 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 5 2007
Mario Williams Defensive 1 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 16 2006
DeMeco Ryans Defensive 13 2006
Andre Johnson Offensive 4 2006
Jerome Mathis Special Teams 8 2005
Kris Brown Special Teams 3 2004
Chad Stanley Special Teams 9 2003
Avion Black Special Teams 15 2002
Aaron Glenn Defensive 14 2002

Related Content