Skip to main content

Schaub named AFC Offensive Player of the Week


Quarterback Matt Schaub tossed four touchdown passes at Tennessee.

Quarterback Matt Schaub was named AFC Offensive Player of the Week for Week 2 today, earning the honor for the second time in his career.

Schaub is the first Texan to win the award this season and the first offensive player to win the award twice in his Texans career.

Schaub (6-5, 234) completed 25-of-39 passes for 357 yards and four touchdowns with no interceptions, giving him a passer rating of 127.8 in a 34-31 win at Tennessee. His four touchdown passes set a career high and tied a franchise record. He topped 300 passing yards for the sixth time in his career. His 127.8 passer rating was the second-highest of his career.

Schaub's favorite target on the day was wide receiver Andre Johnson, who finished with 10 catches for 149 yards and a pair of touchdowns. His 10th catch gave Johnson 500 receptions for his career, making him the second-fastest player to reach that milestone.

The Texans found themselves down 21-7 early in the second quarter, but the former Virginia Cavalier led the comeback by finding Johnson on a play fake for a 72-yard touchdown. Houston went into halftime tied at 24 with the defending AFC South champions. To seal the win in the fourth quarter, Schaub led a nine-play, 63-yard drive that culminated with kicker Kris Brown nailing a 23-yard game-winner with less than three minutes to play. Schaub was 3-of-5 for 52 yards on the game's deciding drive.

Houston's 34 points came against a tough Titans' defense that gave up 13 points in their season opener against the Pittsburgh Steelers and yielded a mere 14.6 points per game in 2008, second-best in the NFL.

Schaub also was nominated for FedEx Air NFL Player of the Week honors for his Week 2 performance. Click **here** for more information.

List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:

Player Award Week Year
Matt Schaub Offensive 2 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 14 2008
Steve Slaton Offensive 13 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 8 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 6 2008
André Davis Special Teams 14 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 5 2007
Mario Williams Defensive 1 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 16 2006
DeMeco Ryans Defensive 13 2006
Andre Johnson Offensive 4 2006
Jerome Mathis Special Teams 8 2005
Kris Brown Special Teams 3 2004
Chad Stanley Special Teams 9 2003
Avion Black Special Teams 15 2002
Aaron Glenn Defensive 14 2002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content