Skip to main content

Watt Named To AP All-Pro First Team


Third-year defensive end becomes second player in franchise history to earn a spot on the All-Pro First Team in consecutive seasons.*

HOUSTON – Houston Texans DE J.J. Watt was named to the Associated Press All-Pro First Team today, marking the second season in a row the third-year defensive end has earned a spot on the first team. Watt is the first defensive player in franchise history to earn AP All-Pro First Team recognition in consecutive years and joins WR Andre Johnson (2008 and 2009) as the second Texan ever to earn the distinction in consecutive seasons.

The AP All-Pro Team is determined by a 50-member panel of national pro football writers, with one vote cast per voter for each member of the All-Pro team.

Watt followed up his Associated Press 2012 Defensive Player of the Year campaign by totaling a career-high 117 tackles, 10.5 sacks, 22 tackles for loss, a league-high 46 quarterback hits, three forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries, seven passes defensed and two blocked field goals. Since 2012, Watt leads the NFL with 31.0 sacks, 89 quarterback hits and 61 tackles for loss. He is also tops among defensive linemen in that time with his 134 solo tackles and 23 passes defensed.

Watt also earned his second consecutive Pro Bowl berth in December. 

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content