Skip to main content
Houston Texans

Brown wins AFC weekly honors


The NFL announced today that Houston Texans kicker Kris Brown was named AFC Special Teams Player of the Week for Week 5, capturing the award for the fourth time in his career and third as a Texan.

Brown (5-11, 208) tied a career high with 16 points as the Texans improved to 3-2, their best start in franchise history, with a 22-19 win over the Miami Dolphins. Brown set an NFL record by kicking three field goals of 54 yards or longer. Brown established a career high by kicking the game-winning 57-yard field goal with one second to go in Sunday's win. It was Brown's sixth game-winning field goal as a Texan and the ninth of his career.

Brown now owns the three longest field goals in the NFL this season. Coming into Sunday's action, the longest field goal in the league was 53 yards, which had happened three times. Brown's 54-yard field goal in the third quarter gave him 10 points for the game and 802 points for his career. Brown ended the game with 808 points in his nine-year career. Brown finished five consecutive drives with made field goals. Brown is tied for the NFL lead with 50 points and has converted 13-of-14 kicks on the season.

Brown and Dolphins kicker Jay Feely combined to tie an NFL record with nine made field goals. They join New England's Adam Vinatieri and Miami's Olindo Mare (10/17/99) and San Diego's John Carney and Kansas City's Pete Stoyanovich (9/29/96) for the record.

Brown is the only Texans player to secure multiple player of the week awards. Brown has garnered special teams honors in 2006 (Week 16) and 2004 (Week 3) as a Texan and in 1999 (Week 7) as a member of the Pittsburgh Steelers. Brown joins teammate defensive end Mario Williams, who won the AFC Defensive Player of the Week (Week 1), as the two Texans to garner the award this season. This is the third NFL honor this season for the Texans. Defensive tackle Amobi Okoye was named Defensive Rookie of the Month in September.

*List of Texans AFC Players of the Week Award winners: *

Player Award * Week Year*
Kris Brown Special teams 5 2007
Mario Williams Defensive 1 2007
Kris Brown Special teams 16 2006
DeMeco Ryans Defensive 13 2006
Andre Johnson Offensive 4 2006
Jerome Mathis Special teams 8 2005
Kris Brown Special teams 3 2004
Chad Stanley Special teams 9 2003
Avion Black Special teams 15 2002
Aaron Glenn Defensive 14 2002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content