Foster named AFC Offensive Player of the Week


Texans running back Arian Foster was named the AFC Offensive Player of the Week following his performance at Tennessee on Oct. 23. It is the third time Foster has won the award in his three-year career and the second time this season he has garnered the honor.

Foster became the fourth player since the 1970 merger to score three touchdowns and have more than 100 yards rushing and 100 yards receiving in a single game in the 41-7 win against the Titans. The 2010 NFL rushing champion carried the ball 25 times for 115 yards and scored two touchdowns on the ground and had five receptions for 119 yards, including a career-long 78-yard touchdown grab in the second quarter. Foster is the first player in Texans history and 32nd player in NFL history to have more than 100 yards rushing and receiving in a single game.

Foster also tied a franchise record with his 11th career 100-yard rushing game and posted his second 100-yard receiving performance this season. His 234 scrimmage yards against Tennessee were second only to his franchise-record 238 scrimmage yards, set against Indianapolis in the 2010 season opener. Foster ranks 10th in the AFC with 420 yards rushing and is fourth among NFL running backs with 305 yards receiving despite missing two games with a hamstring injury this season.

Foster was also named AFC Player of the Week following a 155-yard rushing performance against Pittsburgh in Week 4. The first AFC Player of the Week Award of Foster's career came after he ran for a team-record 231 yards and scored three touchdowns against Indianapolis in Week 1 of the 2010 season.

List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:

Player                        Award                        Week              Year

Arian Foster             Offensive                    7                      2011

Arian Foster             Offensive                    4                      2011

Glover Quin               Defensive                    12                    2010

Matt Schaub              Offensive                    6                      2010

Andre Johnson          Offensive                    2                      2010

Arian Foster             Offensive                    1                      2010

Brian Cushing            Defensive                    8                      2009

Brian Cushing            Defensive                    6                      2009

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams             4                      2009

Matt Schaub              Offensive                    2                      2009

Matt Schaub              Offensive                    14                    2008

Steve Slaton              Offensive                    13                    2008

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams             8                      2008

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams             6                      2008

André Davis              Special Teams             14                    2007

Kris Brown                Special Teams             5                      2007

Mario Williams          Defensive                    1                      2007

Kris Brown                Special Teams             16                    2006

DeMeco Ryans          Defensive                    13                    2006

Andre Johnson          Offensive                    4                      2006

Jerome Mathis           Special Teams             8                      2005

Kris Brown                Special Teams             3                      2004

Chad Stanley             Special Teams             9                      2003

Avion Black              Special Teams             15                    2002

Aaron Glenn              Defensive                    14                    2002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content