J.J. Watt wins Deacon Jones Award

Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt is the winner of the Deacon Jones Award, given annually to the NFL leader in quarterback sacks.

Watt, a four-time Pro Bowl selection, led the league with 17.5 sacks and became the seventh player since the statistic became official in 1982 to lead the league in sacks twice.  Watt led the NFL with 20.5 sacks in 2012.

"An individual award is never individually earned," said Watt, whose accomplishments will be recognized as part of NFL Honors, the NFL's primetime awards show on CBS at 9 p.m. ET on Saturday night, February 6.  "This honor is a testament to my teammates and coaches for helping me to be successful each week.  I am humbled and honored to receive the Deacon Jones Award and I will always continue to strive toward new heights of greatness."

The Deacon Jones Award was created in 2013 to permanently honor the legacy of DEACON JONES.  Jones died on June 3, 2013 at the age of 74.

One of the greatest defensive players in NFL history, Jones was a fixture at defensive end from 1961-74 with the Los Angeles Rams, San Diego Chargers and Washington Redskins, earning unanimous AP all-league honors in five consecutive seasons.  He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1980.

A collection of photos of J.J. Watt from the 2015 season.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content