Johnson earns AFC Offensive Player of the Week honor


Houston Texans wide receiver Andre Johnson has earned the AFC Offensive Player of the Week honor for Week 2 after catching 12 passes for 158 yards and a touchdown to help his team to the first overtime win in franchise history on Sunday at Washington.

Johnson battled back from an ankle injury that caused him to leave the game briefly in the third quarter to help the Texans overcome a 27-10 deficit, leaping to haul in quarterback Matt Schaub's 34-yard fourth-down heave with 2:03 remaining in regulation to tie the game at 27-27. He tied a Texans record with 12 catches and recorded the 32nd 100-yard receiving game of his career.

In addition to helping the Texans to their first 2-0 start since 2007, Johnson surpassed several career milestones in the game. It marked his 14th career game with at least 10 receptions and 100 yards receiving, tying him with Marvin Harrison for the second-most in NFL history behind Hall of Famer Jerry Rice (15 games). Johnson became the second-fastest player in NFL history to reach 600 career receptions, doing so in his 104th career game, trailing only Harrison (102 games). He also became the seventh-fastest player in NFL history to reach 8,000 career receiving yards, doing so on his second reception of the game.

It is the second time Johnson has won the award and the second time in franchise history that the Texans have had the AFC Offensive Player of the Week in back-to-back weeks. Texans running back Arian Foster won the honor in Week 1 of this season, and Schaub and running back Steve Slaton garnered the award in Weeks 14 and 13 of the 2008 season.

Johnson and Schaub are the only Texans to win the honor twice. Foster and Slaton are the only other two Texans to win AFC offensive honors. Below is a list of Texans who have won the AFC Player of the Week Award.

Andre JohnsonOffensive22010
Arian FosterOffensive12010
Brian CushingDefensive82009
Brian CushingDefensive62009
Jacoby JonesSpecial Teams42009
Matt SchaubOffensive22009
Matt SchaubOffensive142008
Steve SlatonOffensive132008
Jacoby JonesSpecial Teams82008
Jacoby JonesSpecial Teams62008
André DavisSpecial Teams142007
Kris BrownSpecial Teams52007
Mario WilliamsDefensive12007
Kris BrownSpecial Teams162006
DeMeco RyansDefensive132006
Andre JohnsonOffensive42006
Jerome MathisSpecial Teams82005
Kris BrownSpecial Teams32004
Chad StanleySpecial Teams92003
Avion BlackSpecial Teams152002
Aaron GlennDefensive142002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content