Skip to main content

Jones named AFC Special Teams Player of Week


Texans wide receiver Jacoby Jones was named AFC Special Teams Player of the Week for Week 4, earning the honor for the third time in his career. That ties a Texans record for most in team history.

Jones is the second Texan to win AFC honors this season and the second Texans special teams player to win the award three times in his career. Quarterback Matt Schaub was named Offensive Player of the Week for Week 2. Kicker Kris Brown has won AFC Special Teams Player of the Week three times as a Texan, most recently in 2007.

Jones (6-2, 206) returned a free kick 95 yards for a touchdown in Sunday's 29-6 victory over the Oakland Raiders. It was the longest return of his career and the first kickoff return for a touchdown for the third-year receiver.

Jones also has run back two punt returns in his career, both during the 2008 season. He returned a punt 70 yards for his first NFL touchdown against the Miami Dolphins in Week 6. Two weeks later, Jones scored on a 73-yard punt return in a victory over the Bengals.

Jones' 95-yard touchdown helped the Texans put up nine points in only 12 seconds against Oakland. One play earlier, rookie linebacker Brian Cushing tackled Raiders running back Justin Fargas in the end zone for the Texans' first safety since 2002.

Jones is averaging 26.9 yards per kickoff return through four games this season, which ranks third in the NFL. He is tied with André Davis and Jerome Mathis for first in Texans history with three kick returns for touchdowns.

The last Texans player to return a kickoff for a touchdown was Davis, who became just the seventh player in league history to return two kickoffs for a touchdown in the same game against Jacksonville in Week 17 of 2007.

Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners
Player Award Week Year
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 4 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 2 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 14 2008
Steve Slaton Offensive 13 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 8 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 6 2008
André Davis Special Teams 14 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 5 2007
Mario Williams Defensive 1 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 16 2006
DeMeco Ryans Defensive 13 2006
Andre Johnson Offensive 4 2006
Jerome Mathis Special Teams 8 2005
Kris Brown Special Teams 3 2004
Chad Stanley Special Teams 9 2003
Avion Black Special Teams 15 2002
Aaron Glenn Defensive 14 2002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content