Schaub named AFC Offensive Player of the Week


Texans quarterback Matt Schaub was named AFC Offensive Player of the Week for Week 14, becoming the first Texans quarterback to win the offensive award in team history.

Schaub joins running back Steve Slaton as back-to-back winners of the AFC honors, becoming the first teammates this year to win the offensive award in consecutive weeks. The Texans set a franchise record with their fourth player of the week honor, breaking the record of three in 2006 and 2007. Schaub is the third Texan to win offensive honors, joining Slaton, who captured the award last week, and wide receiver Andre Johnson, who won it in Week 4 in 2006.

Schaub (6-5, 234) returned to the starting lineup last Sunday after missing four games due to a knee injury. He threw for a career-high 414 yards and a pair of touchdowns to lead the Texans to a 24-21 win over the Green Bay Packers in the coldest game in Texans history. The win extended the Texans' winning streak to a franchise-best three.

Schaub found eight different receivers on the day. His second completion went for a 58-yard touchdown to wide receiver Kevin Walter to put the Texans up 7-0. After the Packers took a 14-13 lead on the first play of the fourth quarter, Schaub found Johnson for an 11-yard touchdown with 10 minutes to go, giving the Texans a 21-14 lead.

The Texans found themselves backed up at their own two-yard line with 1:49 remaining on the clock. Schaub went four-for-five on the final drive, including a spike to stop the clock with 27 seconds remaining, to set up kicker Kris Brown up for a 40-yard game-winning field goal as time expired. Schaub finished with a career-high 144 yards passing and a 138.6 quarterback rating in the fourth quarter as the Texans improved to 6-7 on the season.

List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:

Matt SchaubOffensive142008
Steve SlatonOffensive132008
Jacoby JonesSpecial Teams82008
Jacoby JonesSpecial Teams62008
André DavisSpecial Teams142007
Kris BrownSpecial Teams52007
Mario WilliamsDefensive12007
Kris BrownSpecial Teams162006
DeMeco RyansDefensive132006
Andre JohnsonOffensive42006
Jerome MathisSpecial Teams82005
Kris BrownSpecial Teams32004
Chad StanleySpecial Teams92003
Avion BlackSpecial Teams152002
Aaron GlennDefensive142002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content