Skip to main content

Schaub named AFC Offensive Player of the Week


Houston Texans quarterback Matt Schaub has earned the team's third AFC Offensive Player of the Week honor of 2010 after leading the Texans to a 35-31 come-from-behind win against Kansas City last Sunday. Schaub joins running back Arian Foster (Week 1) and wide receiver Andre Johnson (Week 2) in earning the honor this season.

Schaub completed 25-of-33 passes for 305 yards, two touchdowns, no interceptions and a season-best 123.9 passer rating, and led the Texans on four consecutive touchdown drives against Kansas City to help overcome a 14-point deficit. He found Johnson in the back of the end zone from 11 yards out with 28 seconds remaining in the contest to cap the nine-play, 80-yard game-winning drive. It marked the seventh game-winning drive of Schaub's career and second this season.

"You can't win games in this league unless your quarterback is special, and ours was special today," coach Gary Kubiak said after the game.

The win improved Houston's record to 4-2 for the best six-game start in franchise history, kept the team tied for the AFC South lead and gave the Texans their best record ever heading into a bye week.

For the season, Schaub is 127-of-197 passing (64.5 completion percentage) for 1,538 yards, nine touchdowns, five interceptions and a 93.0 passer rating. He ranks fourth in the AFC in completions, completion percentage, yards and touchdown passes.

It is the third time Schaub has earned the AFC Offensive Player of the Week Award, the most of any Texan in franchise history. He was also named FedEx Air Player of the Week in Week 2 after throwing for an NFL season-high 497 yards against Washington. Schaub is nominated for FedEx Air Player of the Week. To learn more, click here.

Below is a list of Texans who have won the AFC Player of the Week Award.

Player Award Week Year
Matt Schaub Offensive 6 2010
Andre Johnson Offensive 2 2010
Arian Foster Offensive 1 2010
Brian Cushing Defensive 8 2009
Brian Cushing Defensive 6 2009
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 4 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 2 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 14 2008
Steve Slaton Offensive 13 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 8 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 6 2008
André Davis Special Teams 14 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 5 2007
Mario Williams Defensive 1 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 16 2006
DeMeco Ryans Defensive 13 2006
Andre Johnson Offensive 4 2006
Jerome Mathis Special Teams 8 2005
Kris Brown Special Teams 3 2004
Chad Stanley Special Teams 9 2003
Avion Black Special Teams 15 2002
Aaron Glenn Defensive 14 2002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content