Skip to main content

Texans release 16

HOUSTON - The Houston Texans waived the following players, it was announced today:

Strong safety Curry Burns, running back KaRon Coleman, guard Curry Dawson, cornerback Vontez Duff, guard Brandon Evans, cornerback Rober' Freeman, tight end John Frieser, wide receiver Albert Johnson, tackle Brad Lekkerkerker, wide receiver Jermaine Lewis, center Andrew Martin, linebacker Raheem Orr, defensive end D.J. Renteria, kicker Todd Sievers, wide receiver Andrae Thurman and defensive end Bryce Wyatt.

The Texans currently have 70 players on their roster, including five roster exemptions. The reason Houston has 70 rather than the league mandated 65, is because of roster exemptions for players who participated in the NFL Europe League. The following players are the NFL Europe exemptions: C Luke Butkus, P Steve Cheek, LB Antonio Rodriguez, FB Ed Stansbury and WR Chris Taylor. The NFL Europe exemptions will not expire until 3 p.m. CT, on Sunday, September 5, when a 53-player Active List will become effective.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content