Skip to main content

Texans release 21 players


With the roster finalized for now, coach Gary Kubiak and the Texans turn their collective attention to their Week 1 game at Pittsburgh.

The Houston Texans released the following 21 players from their roster on Friday. The team has one more move to make before the 53-man roster limit deadline Saturday at 3 p.m. CT.

Stay tuned to for quotes from coach Gary Kubiak and general manager Rick Smith, as well as a full recap of the moves.

Jon Abbate FB 5-11 245 Wake Forest
Shane Boyd QB 6-1 232 Kentucky
Alex Brink QB 6-2 208 Washington St.
Kevis Coley LB 6-1 228 Southern Miss.
Rosevelt Colvin DE 6-3 250 Purdue
Glenn Earl S 6-1 215 Notre Dame
Greg Eslinger C 6-3 292 Minnesota
Jamar Fletcher CB 5-10 180 Wisconsin
Darnell Jenkins WR 5-10 188 Miami (Fla.)
Ryan Krause TE 6-3 244 Neb. - Omaha
Gabe Long DT 6-3 290 Utah
Anthony Maddox DT 6-1 305 Delta St.
LeRon McCoy WR 6-1 219 Indiana (Pa.)
Ben Moffitt LB 6-2 245 South Florida
Jesse Nading DE 6-5 258 Colorado St.
Derrick Roberson CB 5-10 185 Rutgers
Marcel Shipp RB 5-11 224 Massachusetts
Mark Simmons WR 5-10 187 Kansas
Torrin Tucker T 6-6 315 Southern Miss.
Darius Walker RB 5-11 205 Notre Dame
Dexter Wynn CB 5-9 175 Colorado St.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content