Skip to main content

Texans to receive awards at Houston Football Dinner

HOUSTON – The Touchdown Club of Houston will honor QB David Carr, WR Andre Johnson, NT Seth Payne and CB Dunta Robinson at the Houston Football Dinner on Wednesday, April 27 at 7 p.m. in the JW Marriot Exhibition Center.

The Texans players in attendance will receive awards voted on by their teammates, including Most Valuable Player, Ed Block Courage Award, Spirit of the Bull Award and Rookie of the Year. Another honor, The Mickey Herskowitz Award, is voted on by the Houston-area media.

WR Andre Johnson received the team's Most Valuable Player award after making his first Pro Bowl appearance. In addition to being the Texans first offensive Pro Bowler, Johnson is the first Texans player to win the team MVP. He finished 2004 with a team-high 79 receptions for 1,142 yards and six touchdowns.

The team's first multi-award winner, NT Seth Payne, won the Ed Block Courage Award and the Spirit of the Bull Award. Since 1984, the Ed Block Courage Awards annually honors one player from every NFL team who exemplifies an ability to overcome great adversity. In 2003, Payne tore his ACL in the second quarter at

(9/14/03) and was placed on the Reserve/Injured list. Following the initial procedure on his knee, Payne had a second procedure to remove a pin from the joint and a third to insert a new ACL after his body had an adverse reaction to the original graft. Payne came back from the injury in 2004 and played in all 16 games where he recorded 78 tackles (34 solo) and two sacks. Payne was also the recipient of the Spirit of the Bull Award, given to the player who exemplifies sportsmanship, character and leadership.

Pro Football Weekly's Defensive Rookie of the Year, CB Dunta Robinson, was also voted as the Texans Rookie of the Year by his teammates. Among Robinson's many accomplishments, he recorded 85 tackles, six interceptions for 146 yards, three sacks, 19 passes defensed and three fumbles.

The lone honor granted by the Houston-area media is The Mickey Herskowitz Award for the most media friendly Texans player. QB David Carr received the inaugural award for his willingness to assist the media by participating in interviews and being amicable to the media.

Others receiving awards:

will be honored.

The proceeds of the dinner will benefit The Houston Texans Foundation, the "Play It Smart" program created by the National Football Foundation and supported by the NFL, and the Touchdown Club's High School Weight Room Refurbishing Fund. To purchase tickets, email or call the message line at 281-754-4867. FOOD WILL BE SERVED TO THE MEDIA; please RSVP to the above email.

*                          Who:*      QB David Carr, WR Andre Johnson, NT Seth Payne,

CB Dunta Robinson 
*                          What:*    

Football Dinner

When:    Wednesday, April 27, 7 p.m.
                           *Where:  *JW

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content