Skip to main content
Houston Texans

WR Fuller V named AFC Special Teams POTW

HOUSTON – The NFL named Houston Texans WR Will Fuller V the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week following his performance against the Tennessee Titans on Sunday.

Fuller recorded a 67-yard punt return for a touchdown on his first career punt return in Houston's 27-20 victory over the Tennessee Titans. The touchdown broke a 20-20 tie in the third quarter, which proved to be the game-winning score. He is the first rookie in Texans history to score on a punt return and first overall Houston player to do so since Keshawn Martin on Nov. 17, 2013.

On offense, Fuller led the team with seven receptions for 81 yards and a touchdown, as he became the first Texans player and fourth NFL rookie in the past 15 years to score a receiving and punt return touchdown in the same game, joining Tavon Austin, T.Y. Hilton and Dez Bryant.

Fuller is the first rookie in NFL history to notch 300-plus receiving yards and a punt return touchdown in his team's first four games of a season.

This is the first career Player of the Week award for Fuller and the 37th time a Houston Texan has been named Player of the Week in franchise history. It is also the 12th time Houston has won the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week award in team history and first since Randy Bullock in 2014.


Player                                 Award                                   Week                    Year

Will Fuller V                      Special Teams                    4                              2016

Whitney Mercilus          Defensive                           1                              2016

J.J. Watt                             Defensive                           17                           2015

J.J. Watt                             Defensive                           11                           2015

DeAndre Hopkins          Offensive                            6                              2015

Randy Bullock                  Special Teams                    16                           2014

Ryan Fitzpatrick              Offensive                            13                           2014

J.J. Watt                             Defensive                           11                           2014

J.J. Watt                             Defensive                           4                              2014

J.J. Watt                             Defensive                           15                           2012

Matt Schaub                    Offensive                            11                           2012

J.J. Watt                             Defensive                           3                              2012

Arian Foster                     Offensive                            7                              2011

Arian Foster                     Offensive                            4                              2011

Glover Quin                      Defensive                           12                           2010

Matt Schaub                    Offensive                            6                              2010

Andre Johnson               Offensive                            2                              2010

Arian Foster                     Offensive                            1                              2010

Brian Cushing                   Defensive                           8                              2009

Brian Cushing                   Defensive                           6                              2009

Jacoby Jones                    Special Teams                    4                              2009

Matt Schaub                    Offensive                            2                              2009

Matt Schaub                    Offensive                            14                           2008

Steve Slaton                     Offensive                            13                           2008

Jacoby Jones                    Special Teams                    8                              2008

Jacoby Jones                    Special Teams                    6                              2008

André Davis                      Special Teams                    14                           2007

Kris Brown                        Special Teams                    5                              2007

Mario Williams                Defensive                           1                              2007

Kris Brown                        Special Teams                    16                           2006

DeMeco Ryans                Defensive                           13                           2006

Andre Johnson               Offensive                            4                              2006

Jerome Mathis                Special Teams                    8                              2005

Kris Brown                        Special Teams                    3                              2004

Chad Stanley                    Special Teams                    9                              2003

Avion Black                       Special Teams                    15                           2002

Aaron Glenn                    Defensive                           14                           2002

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content