Skip to main content

Houston Texans DB Tremon Smith Named AFC Special Teams Player of the Week

The NFL has named Houston Texans DB Tremon Smith the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week following his performance in the team's 30-16 victory over the Jacksonville Jaguars in Week 15. This marks the first Player of the Week award of his NFL career and the team's first Special Teams award since Week 15 of the 2019 campaign.

In Week 15, Smith finished with 121 kickoff return yards, one touchdown, one special teams tackle and one tackle on defense, while also downing one punt inside the 5-yard line. He took back his first return of the day 98 yards to the end zone to give his club a 14-3 first-quarter lead over the Jaguars. The 98-yard touchdown return marked a new career long and was also the first score of his four-year career. Smith was the only player in Week 15 to return a kick for a touchdown and first Texans player to do so since 2009. For the year, Smith has returned 13 kickoffs for 303 yards (29.0 avg.).

He also played a large role on the special teams coverage unit in Sunday's victory. In the fourth quarter in the midst of a one-possession game, Smith downed a punt by P Cameron Johnston on the Jacksonville 4-yard line that led to a Jaguars three-and-out and the ensuing game-sealing touchdown by the Texans' offense. He became the first player in club annals with both a special teams tackle and a kickoff return touchdown in a single game.

This marks the 50th time a Texan has been named Player of the Week in franchise history and the first time this season. It is also the 16th time Houston has won the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week award in team history.

Table inside Article
Player Award Week Season
Tremon Smith Special Teams 15 2021
Deshaun Watson Offensive 11 2020
Angelo Blackson Special Teams 15 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 13 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 5 2019
Deshaun Watson Offensive 3 2019
Whitney Mercilus Defensive 2 2019
Ka'imi Fairbairn Special Teams 15 2018
J.J. Watt Defensive 12 2018
Jadeveon Clowney Defensive 4 2018
Johnathan Joseph Defensive 6 2017
Deshaun Watson Offensive 4 2017
Shane Lechler Special Teams 8 2016
Will Fuller V Special Teams 4 2016
Whitney Mercilus Defensive 1 2016
J.J. Watt Defensive 17 2015
J.J. Watt Defensive 11 2015
DeAndre Hopkins Offensive 6 2015
Randy Bullock Special Teams 16 2014
Ryan Fitzpatrick Offensive 13 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 11 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 4 2014
J.J. Watt Defensive 15 2012
Matt Schaub Offensive 11 2012
J.J. Watt Defensive 3 2012
Arian Foster Offensive 7 2011
Arian Foster Offensive 4 2011
Glover Quin Defensive 12 2010
Matt Schaub Offensive 6 2010
Andre Johnson Offensive 2 2010
Arian Foster Offensive 1 2010
Brian Cushing Defensive 8 2009
Brian Cushing Defensive 6 2009
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 4 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 2 2009
Matt Schaub Offensive 14 2008
Steve Slaton Offensive 13 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 8 2008
Jacoby Jones Special Teams 6 2008
André Davis Special Teams 14 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 5 2007
Mario Williams Defensive 1 2007
Kris Brown Special Teams 16 2006
DeMeco Ryans Defensive 13 2006
Andre Johnson Offensive 4 2006
Jerome Mathis Special Teams 8 2005
Kris Brown Special Teams 3 2004
Chad Stanley Special Teams 9 2003
Avion Black Special Teams 15 2002
Aaron Glenn Defensive 14 2002

Related Content